Call of Duty: Ghosts

call-of-duty-ghosts-eminem

Photo from mashable.com

By Magdalena Espinoza-Garcia

From Call of Duty: Finest Hour to Call of Duty: Black Ops to the newly released Call of Duty: Ghosts, the Activision Company has made a huge impact on the world with their Call of Duty series. It was Call of Duty: Modern Warfare that redefined the first person attribute. It was also the game that set the benchmark for first person shooter (FPS) games in an all-action blockbuster. It’s a shame for me to say, as a Call of Duty (COD) series fan, that the newly released Call of Duty: Ghosts does not set any new benchmarks or redefine anything. It is a continuation of the old series with a few new tricks to excite players.

When I first bought Call of Duty: Ghosts I was very excited to get home and start playing. I did not care at all about the campaign, even though it was one of the steps to understanding multiplayer and how to set the classes. Once I started playing the game on my Xbox, I immediately selected the multiplayer co-op. I was very surprised at how realistic the gun classes looked, as well as the soldier I was creating for that class. It took me about 20 minutes to actually figure out how to work everything and set my classes. Once I started actually playing a game mode I saw the maps and I loved how realistic they were compared to all of the other maps.

For some reason I always kept dying just seconds after I would spawn. I thought it was just that I wasn’t as good as I thought I would be in the game. But it wasn’t only that I wasn’t as good as I thought, it was also the spawn system. The spawn system made it so that enemies would spawn next, behind, or in front of you. I of course liked spawning behind an enemy but not in front. Overall the game was not as I expected it to be: it was good and it was bad in many ways.

Call of Duty: Ghosts had many pros that allowed the game to sell one billion games on the day of its release, and it continues to sell to this day. Call of Duty: Ghosts had clever and meaningful additions to the multiplayer co-op. They also added a greater team focus by adding in game modes like blitz or search and rescue, which require everyone on the team to help each other out in order to win the match. The game also added unique classes that made a player feel as if they were in the actual game.

Some of the cons for Call of Duty: Ghosts are that the maps are very large, especially when playing any game mode, which consists of twelve or fewer people. For example when playing blitz you would spawn on the opposite side of the map and by the time you get to your base to defend your side three people have already scored on the opposing team. Another con that the game has is the spawn system which enables the enemy to spawn behind you while running back to your base or going to enemy lines. It enables you to spawn in between shooting in the game, making high end kill streaks all but impossible to obtain. It is just way too difficult.

After reviewing the game and actually playing the game I give it a 7 out of 10 for the great quality and unique maps, but also because it has a terrible spawn system and it has a strong feeling of similarity even on the next generation. I don’t think the game is all that bad; anyone can work with the terrible spawn system and the large maps. I recommend you try it at a friend’s house or read other reviews on the game itself to make you decide whether or not to buy Call of Duty: Ghosts.

Leave a Reply

