Positive Thinking

By Lacretia Lund

How can being positive contribute to life?

People ask this all the time. is being positive really the key to life, or is it the way you think?  There are many ways to know it does contribute to life.

 

What positive thoughts do to you  

Fredrickson Mayo Clinic in Minnesota tested the impact of positive emotions on the brain by setting up five groups of people.The first two groups were shown clips that created positive emotions. Group 1 saw images that created feelings of joy. Group 2 saw images that created feelings of contentment. Group 3 was known as the control group. They saw images that were neutral and produced no specific emotion. The last two groups were shown clips that created negative emotions. Group 4 saw images that created feelings of fear  (like photos of Mr. Meyer). Group 5 saw images that created feelings of anger. Afterward, each person was asked to imagine themselves in a situation where similar feelings would come and to write down what they would do if that happened .

Each participant was handed a piece of paper with 20 blank lines that started with , “I would like to.”  The ones with fear wrote down the fewest answers. The ones who saw joy wrote down the most answers, higher than the neutral group. That shows people with Joy have more possible outlooks on life in general.

Has anyone ever asked you, “Is the glass half empty or half full ?” That is an old question people ask and that is a good way to look at life . If you say its half full you look at the bright and positive side, where there is more to life. Let’s say you say its half empty. If you say it’s half empty, you look at more of the pessimistic side.

Negative self-talk Positive spin
I’ve never done it before. It’s an opportunity to learn something.
It’s too complicated. I’ll tackle it from a different angle.
I don’t have the resources. Necessity is the mother of invention.
There’s not enough time. Let’s re-evaluate some priorities.
There’s no way it will work. I can learn to make it work.
It’s too radical a change. Let’s take a chance.
No one communicates with me. I will start the conversation.
I’m not getting any better at this. I want to give it another chance.

That is a chart which shows how people can change their life with just some simple ways to change on how they say things. Simply changing what you say can help you to live a more positive life .

 

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne, is so far by the best book to read to help you look at the positive side of life. It tells you the way you can do that.

“The truth is that the universe has been answering you all of your life, but you cannot receive the answers unless you are awake. ”         Rhonda Byrne, The Secret

That is one very unique quote that can get you thinking about things and how life has all the answers for you, and you just need to look on the positive side in life or your life will not turn out the way you want it to be .
Here is a story about a young lady named June Lawlor and how it changed her life.

How did being negative mess up your life and how did being positive change your life?

I was a pessimist. A straight up Negative Nelly. I was stuck in my past and drowning in despair. Depression was my life. 3 years 7 months ago, I ended up in prison. I had finally hit rock bottom. Something needed to change and that something was me.

It all started when I found myself in a cell not knowing my fate. Only knowing I was in a world of trouble and I wasn’t going anywhere for some time. I had attempted to end my life, like I had a million times before, and when I grew frustrated with my failed attempts, I decided that someone else was going to end it for me. “Suicide by cop” is how I tried to accomplish that. It didn’t work. So here I was in prison and I was still alive.

The question “Is it really that serious?” came to mind often. The little things we take for granted everyday began to have importance. I started reading books on Spirituality. I learned how to meditate. Deep breathing became my best friend. I have always enjoyed quotes, quotes that really make you think. Simple words phrased in such a way to make you say “ah. I get that!” I craved inspirational words. They were medicine for my wounded soul.

The more positivity I fed myself the better I felt. Thinking negative thoughts became hard to do. I clung to positivity. Suddenly people who were “Negative Nelly’s”, as I once was, were intolerable to be around. Working through my emotional baggage, I found that I was who is in control of my happiness. What a discovery!

That story is crazy! how someone can be so down in the hole. But June looked on the right side and what she thought never would happen came to her life .

This story shows how positive thinking can really influence someone’s life and how they live it.

Leave a Reply

